Term Dates 2023

Recent News

HERSCHEL CENTENARY BOOK – EARLY BIRD SPECIAL

It is with great excitement that we will be launching the Herschel Centenary book next month, showcasing 100 years of...

HERSCHFIELD IS BACK!

INFORMATION REGARDING THE HERSCHFIELD DERBY – FRIDAY 19 AUGUST 2022VENUE: HERSCHEL GIRLS SCHOOL The annual Herschfield Derby is always a...

Term Dates 2023

TERM 1TERM 2TERM 3TERM 4
(Staff: Mon. 16 January – Fri. 31 March)

Pupils: Wed. 18 January –
Fri. 31 March

51 (53) school days
(Staff: Mon. 17 April –
Fri. 23 June)


Pupils: Tues. 18 April –
Fri. 23 June

43 (44) school days
(Staff: Mon. 17 July –
Fri. 29 September)


Pupils: Tues. 18 July –
Fri. 29 September

52 (53) school days
(Staff: Mon. 9 October –
Fri. 8 December)


Pupils: Tues. 10 October –
Wed. 6 December

44 (47) school days
190 (197) school days

PUBLIC AND SCHOOL HOLIDAYS 2023

20 MarchSchool Holiday
21 MarchHuman Rights Day
7 AprilGood Friday  
10 AprilFamily Day
27 AprilFreedom Day
28 AprilSchool Holiday
1 MayWorkers’ Day
2 MayWorkers’ Day/ Public Holiday
16 JuneYouth Day
9 AugustNational Women’s Day
24 SeptemberHeritage Day
25 SeptemberSchool Holiday

School Song

We are assembled here in love,
We are united, we care for one another.
The greatest lesson of all is the one
That teaches us to live together, together.

Refrain:
Everyone’s a spark and in the night
Together we make a light, a fire burning bright
Ad Dei Gloriam; Inkosi mayibongwe:
To the glory of our God: this is what we believe.

In times of trouble we support
Our fellows; we are taught to be there for our friends.
And all around us, there will be
That special unity, that binds us all together.

If we come back after many years,
We will think fondly of the things that we remember,
And the friends that we made then,
These will be friends forever, forever.

By Thandi Siebert, Head Girl 1993